Friday, 17 May 2013

PEPSI IPL 2013 Match - 67: KXIP vs DD

Kings XI Punjab kept alive their hopes in the Pepsi IPL 2013 with a seven-run win over the Delhi Daredevils at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala on Thursday. Batting first, KXIP posted 171 and their bowlers did well to defend DD to 164.

Chasing 172, DD got off to a lucky start as Azhar Mahmood dropped Mahela Jayawardene at slip off Praveen Kumar in the first over. Unmukt Chand (7) creamed Kumar for a six through cover before he had his stumps rattled a couple of balls later. Sandeep Sharma then struck twice, having Irfan Pathan (1) and David Warner (0) caught at slip off consecutive deliveries to leave DD reeling at 12 for three.

Virender Sehwag smashed two boundaries off Piyush Chawla, introduced into the attack in the tenth over, as DD moved to 57 for three, still requiring 115 runs. Sehwag (30) edged Parwinder Awana to wicket-keeper to leave DD four down in the eleventh over. Jayawardene was once again dropped, this time Mandeep Singh off Chawla. Jayawardene made the most of the lapse and hit Chawla for a six and a four in the 14th over.

Needing 72 from 30 balls, DD lost Jayawardene (39) at the start of the 17th over after he mistimed Sharma to be caught by Manan Vohra at deep square-leg. Ben Rohrer however kept going as he hit a six off Sharma. He continued his hard-hitting, smashing two sixes off Mahmood to leave his team to score 22 off the last over. Rohrer (49) was bowled by Chawla with the first delivery of the final over. Despite a couple of sixes by Morne Morkel, DD finished seven runs short.

Earlier, DD won the toss and elected to field. Shaun Marsh got KXIP to a brisk start with consecutive boundaries off Irfan Pathan in the first over. Adam Gilchrist was given a reprieve when he was put down by Umesh Yadav (off Morne Morkel) on eight. Gilchrist then took apart Ashish Nehra’s second over – the sixth of the innings - for 17 runs as he slammed two sixes and a boundary.

Gilchrist (42) smashed Pathan for a boundary through midwicket before he miscued one and was dismissed caught and bowled in the eighth over. Mahmood (9) was sent back by Nehra as Siddarth Kaul pulled off a spectacular catch by the boundary in the 12th over. Marsh went after Yadav in the 16th over hitting him for two boundaries before David Miller followed it with a six.

Morkel had Marsh (45) caught in the deep by Pathan before Rajagopal Sathish put him over the fence in the 17th over. Miller (44*) went on an assault in the following over, hitting two sixes and a boundary off Kaul. He then hit another six off Yadav in the 19th over. Satish (22) fell in the last over as KXIP posted 171 for four.

David Miller


Post a Comment