Friday, 25 May 2012

DLF IPL 2012 Match - 75 Qualifier 2

Murali Vijay

With a place in the final up for clutch, it was all to play for between the Chennai Super Kings and the Delhi Daredevils in this, the second Qualifying Match. In the end, it was the Chennai Super Kings who ran out comfortable 86 run winners thanks to an imposing 113 from Vijay and some wily offspin bowling from Ashwin who took 3-24 to book his side’s place in opposition to the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 5 Final.

The innings for the Super Kings couldn’t have gotten off to a more optimistic start bar a brace of maximums as Murali Vijay smacked Sunny Gupta’s first two balls for fours, the Indian international dancing down the path on both occasions.

A rare maiden from Negi appeared to tell pressure-wise as Hussey was Delhi’s first victim, snapped up by the keeper, yet his replacement Suresh Raina soon developed in, hitting a four off his third ball faced. A four and a six from Raina suggested he was going the way of Vijay, but he was disappointingly caught and bowled by Negi, bringing fan-favorite MS Dhoni to the crease.

Vijay continued in his rich seam of form, smashing Sunny for six, a ploy that was reciprocal by Dhoni who first pulled him for six and then unleashed the helicopter to score his second maximum in two balls. A four from Dhoni was a bizarre ancestor to his dismissal as Aaron. But then Vijay unleashed his tempting stroke play, hitting two more fours and bringing up a wonderful T20 century in the process, before Albie Morkel was dismissed first ball by Yadav.

His replacement, Dwayne Bravo, proved to be an appropriate replacement as the West Indian crashed two fours and two sixes off Aaron before Murali Vijay, the centurion, was dismissed sadly off the last ball of the innings, run out trying to add a second run to the total of 222-5 for the Daredevils to chase.

With a mammoth 223 needed to win, a good start was critical for the Daredevils and three rapid fours from Jayawardene suggested that the chase might just be possible. Until now David Warner could only contribute 3 from 7 balls as he was dismissed by his equal countryman Ben Hilfenhaus. And matters were compounded as the captain, one of the best T20 batsmen in the world, Sehwag was get out by Albie Morkel who daringly sent down a short ball.

The team ineffective to make any joint gamble and kept losing wickets at typical intervals. Their big weapons, Jayawardene, Taylor, Naman Ohja, Rao and Russell failed when it mattered. And the win was finally established as Dhoni produced an astral bit of fielding to run out Aaron and consolidate the gigantic 86 run win.

Summarized Scores:

Chennai Super Kings 222-5 (20 Overs)

M Vijay                        113(58)                     VR Aaron        2-63
DJ Bravo*                    33(12)                       UT Yadav        1-27

Delhi Daredevils 136-10 (16.5 Overs)

DPMD Jayawardene     55(38)                       R Ashwin        3-23
LRPL Taylor                  24(14)                      SB Jakati         2-40

Man of the Match:

M Vijay (CSK)


Post a Comment